skip navigation


By Neil Ravin - Director of PR & Social Media, 03/22/17, 2:00PM EDT


Emoff Headlines Annual Award Winners

BOSTON, MA -- The Eastern Hockey League is pleased to announce this year's annual award winners for the following honors:

  • Most Valuable Player
  • Forward of the Year
  • Defenseman of the Year
  • Goalie of the Year

Each award was voted on by all of the head coaches in the EHL Premier Division 

Follow the EHL -- Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube
Watch the EHL --  HockeyTV

Mason Emoff - MVP and FOY

A three-goal opening weekend led to a 106-point season for Mason Emoff. The '98 native of Ontario played in 44 of 45 total games for the Lumberjacks, scoring 39 goals and dishing out 67 assists. Emoff was only held off the scoresheet twice all year, once in the regular season and once in the playoffs. A year after Mike McPherson and Johnny Andrews each tallied 100 points for the Boston Jr. Rangers, Emoff broke their records and set the new scoring bar in the EHLP Division. The Canadian-born forward is the unanimous award winner for both the Most Valuable Player and Forward of the Year honors.

2nd Place - Brian Smith (Valley Jr. Warriors)
3rd Place - Matt Kassab (Boston Bandits)

2nd Place - Brian Smith (Valley Jr. Warriors)
3rd Place - Luke Aquaro (Philadelphia Revolution)

Aleck Forcier - DOY

In his first season in the EHLP, Forcier led all Premier Defensemen in scoring with 58 points in 40 total games for the New England Wolves. The native of Quebec tallied 25 of those points on either the Power-Play or Penalty Kill, nearly 50% of his season total. Forcier's speed helps set him apart, and he'll look to continue to improve on that when he moves up to the EHL Division this Fall.

2nd Place - Cory Doney (Vermont Lumberjacks)
3rd Place - Michael Karas (Vermont Lumberjacks) 

Brendan Boncore - GOY

While the Bandits may not have advanced as far as they had hoped in the playoffs, Boncore did all he could between the pipes. The native of Michigan finished the year with a combined record of 18-8-2 to go along with a 1.93 GAA and 3 shutouts. The '97 netminder led the league in wins and GAA, and also turned heads at EHLP All-Star Game. The future is bright for this year's top Premier goaltender.

2nd Place - Noah Griffith (Valley Jr. Warriors)

3rd Place - Daniel Lassman (New Hampshire Jr. Monarchs)